Share,,Google Plus,Pinterest,


Posted in:

2013 Champions: Grand-Am

The final season for the Grand American Rolex Sports Car Series saw some close racing in both major classes, some further controversy about equalisation in DP and some cut and thrust stuff in GT.

DP Class Champions

The Drivers Championship saw some neat championship synergy as Jordan Taylor took his first (and last!) DP title, alongside second time winner Max Angelelli who won his first tile in 2005 in the third year of DP competition alongside Jordan’s father Wayne, who now owns the #10 Velocity Worldwide/Toshiba Corvette team.

093013 _banquet_bc_89165

The Velocity pair beat off the competition from Ganassi’s Memo Rojas and Scott Pruett with Gainsco/ Bob Stallings’ Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty third in the standings at season’s end.

ganassi laguna

The Team Standings though saw the#01 Ganassi team take their seventh title, edging out the Velocity squad whilst Chevrolet took the Engine manufacturers crown and Riley took their tenth consecutive chassis manufacturers title, missing out only in the category’s first year on an all-time clean sweep.

GT Class Champions

A dramatic final found of the Series saw the challenge of the Magnus Racing team, and of their team owner Jon Potter, evaporate as the Porsche was heavily delayed by an accident for which they were entirely blameless. That allowed the Stevenson Camaro of Robin Liddell and John Edwards to close within a point of the Magnus team score in the final standings but allowed Alexander Balzan to secure the title.

092913_NYCchamps_bc_  1830

The team and manufacturer standings matched the final order in the drivers championship with Scuderia Corse and Ferrari triumphing ahead of Magnus and Porsche then Stevenson and Chevrolet.

GA GT winner

GX Class Champions

Jim Norman took the first (and last!) ever GX class title, the #38 BGB Porsche Cayman effort fighting off the challenge of the Mazdaspeed backed Mazda6 efforts from Speedsource with their #00 and #70 efforts tying in second place in the standings.

092913_NYCchamps_bc_  1829


The Mazda though took the Manufacturers award


North American Endurance Championship

The Championship within a Championship, covering the enduros at Daytona, Indianapolis and Watkins Glen went to Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates and their #01 Riley BMW with Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas in the DP class.

John Edwards, Robin Liddell and Stevenson Motorsports took the GT title in the NAEC whilst Jim Norman took the NAEC drivers title in GX with SpeedSource taking the team title.

stevenson camaro